Satellites under operation in Country

Friday, May 6, 2016

New Delhi: Currently, 34 satellites are operational in the country comprising of :-

(i) 13 Communication Satellites namely, INSAT-3A, INSAT-3C, INSAT-4A, INSAT-4B, INSAT-4CR, GSAT-6, GSAT-7, GSAT-8, GSAT-10, GSAT-12, GSAT-14, GSAT-15 and GSAT-16.

(ii) 12 Earth Observation Satellites namely, Resourcesat-2, RISAT-1, RISAT-2, Cartosat-1, Cartosat-2, Cartosat-2A, Cartosat-2B, Oceansat-2, SARAL, Kalpana-1, Megha-Tropiques and INSAT-3D.

(iii) 7 Navigational Satellites namely, IRNSS-1A, 1B, 1C, 1D, 1E, 1F & 1G.

(iv) 2 Space science Satellites namely Mars Orbiter Mission & Astrosat.

Government is not seeking any foreign assistance/collaboration for satellite operations.About 30 service providers are utilising Ku-band (a part of K band) transponders onboard indigenous communication satellites for various communication applications, which include Direct-To-Home Television, Digital Satellite News Gathering, telecommunication, VSAT services for banking, tele-education and business communication.

ISRO has an action plan in place for developing indigenous satellites, with the participation of Indian industries, for earth observation, communication,
navigation and space science and planetary exploration.

This information was provided by the Union Minister of State for Atomic Energy and Space, Dr Jitendra Singh in Rajya Sabha today.